Hope???

‘The first vital step to empowerment is to find hope…..’

Prof George Jelinek, ‘Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis: The evidence-based 7 step recovery program’ 2016

When I was a little girl, I used to love ladybirds. When I found one I would make a wish and hope….enjoy watching one closely and giggle if it landed on me…..and then let it fly away. I remember this now and gently and respectfully gather hope for healing and the future.

In reading Dr Jelinek’s inspiring book about Overcoming MS, I am reminded about the incredible power of hope. The variability of a Functional Movement Disorder is also found in MS. Some patients recover and do not relapse. Some become very disabled. Statistics do not apply to individuals- there are always some who do better no matter how bleak the outcome looks -and there are some who do worse.

At the very least, why shouldn’t I be one of the extraordinary  ones who recovers?

Dr Jelinek writes of research in Multiple Sclerosis: “That one of the principal reasons for chronic sorrow in people with Multiple Sclerosis is their loss of hope” (p. 225). Indeed, those with high hope had a more positive state of mind, reported greater life satisfaction and less depression. For them, high hope buffered the effect of high stress and they were considerably less anxious. Researchers concluded that hope is a potent protective resource for people with Multiple Sclerosis.

I am aware that the beliefs and hope of health practitioners effect their patients, that patients will often live out the ‘prescription they’ve been given’. Fortunately, I have been seen by health practitioners who encourage me, are pragmatic and who have HOPE. What a huge benefit and advantage to me!

As Captain of my own Health Ship, I plan to welcome hope at any opportunity, to notice when others are hopeful and remember its power in healing.

Hope is an optimistic attitude of mind that is based on an expectation of positive outcomes related to events and circumstances in one’s life or the world at large.[1] As a verb, its definitions include: “expect with confidence” and “to cherish a desire with anticipation”.[2] Wikipedia

 

Leave a Reply

